HOURS

Monday to Friday:
8:30AM to 5:00PM
Saturday:
9:00AM to 11:00AM
Closed Sundays
and Major Holidays

Please call ahead for
an appointment
or more information.

About us

Clients can access
their pet information
and us via their own
Vetstreet pet portal!

Pet PortalFacebook

 

 

Pet header

sidewrap

Pashience, Veterinary Assistant

Pashience

Hi! My name is Pashience Merchant and I have been working at Mountain Veterinary Hospital since September 2015. I grew up in Arlington Washington and moved to Bellingham in 2014 to attend Western Washington University. I chose Bellingham and Western simply because my end goal has always been to be in the medical field helping others. I plan on graduating from Western with a BS in behavioral neuroscience, then getting a BS in bioengineering before heading off to med school to become an orthopedic surgeon.

Orthopedics caught my attention as a career choice at a young age. In kindergarten I fell 8ft and broke my left ulna and radius. Even though I would like to say I learned my lesson that time about how fragile bones are, I apparently did not because I broke my left arm in the exact same spot in 5th grade as well. Had the same doctors the second time around and lets just say I became very familiar with what a career as an orthopedic surgeon entailed and I was in love. I knew ever since then that my goal was to be a surgeon fixing bones and hopefully advancing prosthetics as well.

Growing up, my family consisted of my parents, an older and younger brother, 4 miniature poodles, and 2 cats. I currently have a Betta fish, Poseidon, and my beautiful Yorkshire Terrier, Jackson. My family was far from lacking on animal love and care, and even though I’ve always planned on being a medical doctor my experience at Mountain Veterinary Hospital has shown me how much I would love to work with animals for a career choice as well. So for now I will continue with my plan until I reach a decision on medical school or vet school and soak up all the fur kisses I can from work and home.

 On my free time I enjoy playing with my fur baby, going on hikes, drawing, painting, and photography. Any outdoor adventure, especially ones I can take Jackson on too, are almost always my go to choice on my days off. Back